Rebel Roar

The ISU 2017 Four Continents Championship


Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The International Skating Union (ISU) 2017 Four Continents Figure Skating Championship took place on Feb. 15 and recently ended on Feb. 19, in Gangneung, South Korea, which is also where the 2018 winter Olympics will be held. A total of 111 athletes from 14 different countries competed in the championship.

In his short program, American Nathan Chen, at 17 years old, became the first man to land five quadruple jumps in single performance, thus winning the Four Continents and beating Olympic champion Yuzuru Hanyu of Japan by 3.75 points. With a total of 307.46 points, he holds the highest record this season and is the youngest U.S. men’s champion in 51 years.

After his first jump of a quadruple lutz-triple toe loop combination, he followed with a quad flip, quad toe, quad toe-double toe and a quad salchow.

In Men’s Singles, Nathan Chen from the United States won gold, following with Yuzuru Hanyu from Japan with silver and 303.71 points, then, Shoma Uno, also from Japan, with bronze and 288.05 points. 

In Women’s Singles, Mai Mihara from Japan won gold with 200.85 points, followed by Gabrielle Daleman from Canada with silver and 196.91 and Mirai Nagasu with bronze and 194.95 from the United States.

In Pairs Skating, Sui Wenjing and Han Cong from China won gold with 225.03 points, then Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford from Canada won silver with 212.23 points and Liubov Ilyushechkina and Dylan Moscovitch also from Canada, won bronze with 205.31 points.

In Ice Dancing, Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir from Canada won gold with 196.95 points, Maia Shibutani and Alex Shibutani from the United States won silver with 191.85 points, and Madison Chock and Evan Bate, also from the United States, won bronze with 185.58 points.

Established by the International Skating Union in 1999, the Four Continents Figure Skating Competition name refers to Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania. It was created so ice skaters who represented countries other than Europe, a competition similar to the European Figure Skating Championships.

Three skaters or teams from each country may enter discipline. To qualify, ice skaters must be older than fifteen before July 1 of the previous year. Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, North Korea, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, United States, United Arab Emirates, and Uzbekistan are eligible to send skaters to the competition as they are  non-European members of the ISU.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Leave a Comment

Rebel Roar intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our standards and to be respectful and constructive. As such, we do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks, or the use of language that might be interpreted as libelous. Rebel Roar discourages anonymous comments, and registration requires a valid email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comments. Readers must register to comment and are encouraged to sign their comments using their real names. Students should include their projected year of graduation (e.g. Jane Doe, '17).

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
The Online News Magazine of Fairfax High School
The ISU 2017 Four Continents Championship